Hiya all,

This is an issue that is giving me suits. I simply upgraded my mid-2014 Mojave MBP to Catalina. I did not understand that Catalina now splits your HD into two volumes (“Macintosh HD” and “Macintosh HD – Knowledge”) utilizing firmlinks. Okay, no massive deal I believe, it is going to be seamless and invisible to the tip consumer, blah blah blah.

So I improve final night time, and I see my Macintosh HD on the desktop. I open it and do not acknowledge it… the installer had moved my private folders right into a relocated dir onto the desktop, and I now see different directories in there that I do not acknowledge, like Preboot. I attempt to drag my outdated private folders again in, like my writing and audio folders. No go.

So… it seems that Catalina now defaults to exhibiting “Macintosh HD” (system quantity) on the desktop. What the hell? Is that this a bug or the “new regular” for macOS? No matter, I determine I will change the Finder preferences to not present laborious disk volumes on desktop. I then went into the Volumes dir and option-dragged the “Macintosh HD” (knowledge quantity) icon to the desktop. That method, I can have my outdated workflow again, no Preboot folder, and many others.

I open up the brand new alias, and naturally it is linking to the “Macintosh HD” (system quantity). Sigh. Similar factor with dragging it over to the sidebar — it opens the system quantity as an alternative and never the info quantity.

Is that this a bug? Or does Apple truly count on us to traipse by means of folders and manually open our Macintosh HD – Knowledge folders?

I am hoping this can be a bug and never the brand new method of doing issues. Or hoping it is consumer error/stupidity on my finish.

Thanks for any enter!

– – Put up merged: Right now at 5:31 PM – –

https://bombich.com/kb/ccc5/working-apfs-volume-groups

So, it seems that the Knowledge quantity is mounted however “hidden” by default.

Am I misreading this? Is the Desktop/Exhausting Drive metaphor the Finder/System 6-7/Mac OS/OS X/mac OS used for the final 30+ years just about completed?

What use is there in displaying a tough drive on my desktop that I can’t modify?

What use is there in hiding my “consumer” (ie, Knowledge quantity) laborious drive from me, not permitting me to make an alias of it on my desktop, and forcing me to tunnel by means of Mac HD/System/Volumes/Mac HD – Knowledge simply to, like, get to my stuff that was on my desktop?

Apple is f*cking with 30 years of muscle reminiscence right here. I hope I am misunderstanding this.

Ben Givon

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *